Curated by
Release Information
Alva Noto +Nilo
Christian Fennesz
Francesco Tristano
Ryuichi Sakamoto


2018.9.26 Release
JPY 6,480(incl tax)
Catalog number:SICC19030
Recording:December 15–17,2017,Sogetsu Hall(Live Recording)

Click here for reservation.

Live recording from GGG (Glenn Gould Gathering) 2017 - A special tribute event dedicated by Ryuichi Sakamoto

2017 marked the 85th birth anniversary of Glenn Gould, the solitary composer/pianist from Canada. To commemorate this, an array of special exhibitions and concerts were held around the world commissioned by the Glenn Gould Foundation in Canada, among which Ryuichi Sakamoto was asked to curate an event in Japan. Sakamoto, an avid Gould admirer who had been influenced by him since early childhood and had handpicked his compositions for a compilation CD, readily agreed to the request. As a result, “Glenn Gould Gathering”, a series of exhibitions and concerts dedicated to Glenn Gould, took place with Sogetsu Hall as center stage. The event was highlighted with a tribute concert entitled “Glenn Gould - Remodels”. The concert featured musicians who have maintained close relations with Sakamoto, such as Alva Noto + Nilo, the leading figures of contemporary electronic music in Germany, and Austrian guitarist Christian Fennesz, who has spawned a new world of acoustic music, as well as pianist Francesco Tristano, an exceptional talent from Luxembourg. This live album captures the moment of a once-in-a-lifetime encounter.
- Quote from Sony Music Japan’s press release -

【Disc 1】
Ryuichi Sakamoto
  • Improvisation_20171215
  • J. S. Bach (Arranged by Ryuichi Sakamoto): Die Kunst der Fuge_BWV1080a - Contrapunctus I
  • J. S. Bach (Arranged by Ryuichi Sakamoto): Choral_BWV614
  • Ryuichi Sakamoto: andata
  • J. S. Bach (Arranged by Ryuichi Sakamoto): Choral_BWV639

    Christian Fennesz feat. Ryuichi Sakamoto
  • Christian Fennesz: a grandbell tragedy

    Alva Noto + Nilo feat. Ryuichi Sakamoto
  • Bach Gould redux

【Disc 2】
Francesco Tristano
  • Orlando Gibbons:Pavan
  • Orlando Gibbons:French Air
  • Orlando Gibbons:Aleman
  • Orlando Gibbons:Italian Ground
  • Orlando Gibbons:Ground
    Glenn Gould: Two Pieces for Piano
  • No.1
  • No.2
  • Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck: Fantasia in d

    Alva Noto + Nilo/ Christian Fennesz/Francesco Tristano/Ryuichi Sakamoto
  • Francesco Tristano: Coda for Glenn (world premiere)